Storytime Crafts: January 2021

This month I was inspired by other talented crafters! I only had to think of one original craft.

I might be a little bit obsessed with Paper Magic Reny! (Follow her @paper_magic_reny on Instagram for amazing craft ideas.) Paper Magic Reny shared an idea for a snowman made from snowflakes. I modified that slightly to make the snowman using coffee filters. Making snowflakes from coffee filters is easy for younger children (that can use scissors). Fold the coffee filter, my co-worker had a method for symmetry but I just fold them in half and half again. To make one snowflake smaller, trim the outer edge after you have it folded.

(Smaller/trimmed coffee filter on the right.)

Next use scissors to cut out a design. I also used a cupcake liner for the smallest snowflake.

Using a large piece of paper as your background, glue on the coffee filter snowflakes to make your snowman.

I free handed a coffee cup shape and twig arms.

Copy the carrot template on to orange paper.

We have a lot of white dot stickers at our disposal and I added those for additional snow falling. I used a circle punch for the mouth and buttons.

I saw a few variations of this ice skate craft on Pinterest. I did make my own template for this craft but it is not a craft that I came up with.

Copy the ice skate template on to paper of your choice. For speedier cutting, this template can be folded in half and cut out. Then you only have to cut the skates apart in the center.

Punch holes for laces and string with yarn. Add embellishments or designs and glue on craft sticks for blades. The craft sticks could be colored.

A Stack of Alpacas by Matt Cosgrove inspired an original craft.

Copy each alpaca template on to a different color of paper and cut out.

I used a paper punch for the eyes.

Glue the alpaca’s onto each other to form a stack. I also thought this would have made a cute garland.

Leave a comment